The ruling Sierra Leone People’s party (SLPP) has lost the majority seat in the country’s parliament. 

This follows after the seat of Hon Musa Bendugu representing Tonkolili District was declared vacant after he was elected as Sambaia Paramount Chief on Thursday.

By implication, no single political party in Sierra Leone has a majority in parliament. The current make up of the country’s parliament is as follows:

APC – 58 Members

SLPP – 58 Members

C4C – 8 Members

NGC – 4 Members

Independent – 3 Members