The Sierra Leone Football Association Cup will kick off on Saturday at Koidu Town Field after over a six year hiatus.

The opening ceremony will see Mattia FC play against Soccer Rangers in Kono.

The competition was last played in 2016 when FC Johansen defeated RSLAF FC by a goal to nil in Makeni.

The competition was established in 1967 but was played in 1973 when East End Lions took home the trophy.

Mighty Blackpool has won the trophy the most with four gold medals while Lions and Kamboi Eagles at par with three titles each.

Ports Authority, Bai Bureh Warriors and Old Edwardians have all won it twice.

Other winners of the competition include Wusum Stars, Real Republicans, Diamond Stars and FC Kallon.

Participants in the competition include Premier League, Division I and Division II clubs.

Winners of the competition automatically qualify for the CAF Confederation Cup.