The Tertiary Education Commission (TEC) on Tuesday 25th April 2023 issued names of accredited Universities across the country.

The Commission in a press release stated that the University Act of 2021 section 43 makes provision for the establishment of private universities in Sierra Leone which shall be a company limited by guarantee and accredited by the TEC.

TEC also stated that the increase of unregistered and accredited private universities in the country can negatively impact the quality of Higher Education Institutions in the country.

“Under the Tertiary Education Commission’s Act of 2001 and its Regulations of 2006, in particular, Section 2 (1) which states that “Any person or foreign Institution who wishes to establish a tertiary education Institution or offer Tertiary Education shall apply to the Commission” for accreditation,” they stated.

The Commission over the year has accredited the following undermentioned private universities:

1. University of Makeni

2. Limkokwing University of Creative Technology

3. University of Management & Technology (UNIMTECH)

4. United Methodist University (UMU)

5 University of Lunar (Vol.)

6 Central University of Modern Technology (CUMT).

The commission has advised the public to stop doing business with any private university in the country whose name is not mentioned in the above list.

Read the press release below: