The International Cricket Council (ICC) has set Thursday October 27, 2022 as a deadline for the submission of teams representing countries in the ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup Africa Sub-Regional Group B Qualifier slated for 26th November through 10th December 2022 in Kigali, Rwanda.

The declaration has coincided with the commencement of the Sierra Leone Elite Cricket Franchise League meant to tap the best of talents from a list of seventy-five players distributed into five teams.

With the date for team submission brought closer, the Franchise league, which has grown to be more important in this configuration, will now be used to speedily select a formidable final squad of fourteen prior to the deadline day.

Eight countries will take part in the Kigali Qualifier. Nigeria, Tanzania, Mozambique, Ghana, Sierra Leone, The Gambia, Cameroon, and Eswatini will battle for gold.The top two teams from Group A and Group B will join Namibia and Tanzania to compete for the final World Cup spot, a pathway to the ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup 2024 in USA and West Indies.

Meanwhile, the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Africa Division 1 Qualifier has been deferred to July 2023 in Tanzania.

The Women’s T20 Cricket World Cup will be held in June 2023 with the venue to be announced later.