Aggrieved and disenfranchised loyal supporters of the main opposition All People’s Congress party (APC) have filed a petition against the election of the five delegates in Constituency 061, Mabolo Chiefdom, Kambia District.

In a letter dated 23rd August, 2021 sent to PPRC, the twenty-one-man committee, APC Party and other stakeholders, the petitioners registered dissatisfaction stating that their rights have been trampled upon to participate in the election by the representative of the 21-man committee, Sidi Yayah Tunis and the constituency chairman, Alhaji Momodu Kamara with few of his executive members.

According to the petition “…the agreement is clear that for you to vote and be voted for, you must be a member of the party thus: with the party membership card, or valid identification cards with the approval of party stakeholders that he/she is a member”. It furthered that the provision is made clear for everyone to participate as long as he or she is an APC supporter.

The letter alleged that Sidi Yayah Tunis representing the committee in the election boycotted the laydown principles by bringing along an already cooked list of voters they called data. “Sidi Yayah Tunis insisted that only those who have the party membership cards are allowed to vote and leaving out the majority. In fact, they gave cards on sight to people whom they think belong to the establishment (cabal). This insincerity left us in bitter emotions consequently resulting in the whole process into chaos,” the aggrieved parties averred. They further expressed desperation and non-compromise for the alleged flawed process that does not create an equal platform for all.

According to them, Alfred Peter Conteh and NRM had selflessly fought for this democratization of the party and therefore they should not allow for it to be water down the drain. The committee has acknowledged the petition letter and promised to take action in a bid to set another date for election.

Mohamed Bangura, former secretary of the constituency, Osman Tolo Sesay, former youth leader, Isatu Limba Kamara, member of the party and host of others are the petitioners of the election.