President Julius Maada Bio has arrived in Sandton, South Africa to attend the launch of South Africa’s 2nd Generation Country Review Report and the African Peer Review Mechanism 20th Anniversary celebration.

President Bio is serving as Chair of the African Peer Review Forum of Heads of State and Government.
The African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) was established in 2003 by the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD) Heads of State and Government Implementation Committee (HSGIC) as an instrument for AU Member States to voluntarily self-monitor their governance performance.

APRM is a voluntary arrangement amongst African states to systematically assess and review governance at Head of State peer level in order to promote political stability, accelerated sub-regional and continental economic integration, economic growth and sustainable development. By acceding to the APRM, Member States agree to independently review their compliance with African and international governance commitments.

Performance and progress are measured in four thematic areas:
• democracy and political governance
• economic governance and management
• corporate governance
• socio-economic development.

Each review leads to a national programme of action for the state concerned to address problems identified. A national monitoring body prepares six-monthly and annual reports on progress in implementing the national programme of action for submission to meetings of the APRM Forum of Heads of State and Government. Country review reports are made available to the public after the APRM Forum peer review.