The Port Loko Branch of the Ernest Bai Koroma University of Science and Technology has been officially made a stand-alone University.

The new University has been named by the President, Dr. Julius Maada Bio, in honor of the late former President, Ahmad Tejan Kabbah who served twice as the 3rd President of Sierra Leone, from 1996 to 1997 and again from 1998 to 2007.

It was named after the former president, Ahmed Tejan Kabbah for his effort to end the 11-year civil war in Sierra Leone in 2002.

The Ahmad Tejan Kabbah University of Education and Technology is the first University in the Northwest Region of the county.

This development was achieved through the effort of the Minister of Technical and Higher Education, Dr. Alpha Tejan Wurie, who succeeded in convincing the cabinet to delink the Port Loko Branch of the EBK University to make it a stand-alone University in the Northwest Region.