Malawi has removed visa restrictions for travelers from 79 countries, including Sierra Leone. The Homeland Security Minister, Ken Zikhałe, announced the amendment to immigration regulations through a gazette notice on Wednesday.

Citizens from various nations, such as the UK, China, Russia, Germany, Australia, Canada, Belgium, Ghana, Gambia, France, and Sierra Leone, now enjoy visa-free access to Malawi. This progressive step extends to nationals from the Southern African Development Community (Sadc) and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (Comesa), excluding countries imposing visa requirements on Malawian citizens.

The new regulations also introduce exemptions for specific groups, including diplomats, government officials, and countries with mutual exchange agreements for multiple entry visas with Malawi. Multiple entry visas in Malawi are now valid for up to 12 months.

Tourism Minister Vera Kamtukule emphasized that this decision goes beyond visas, aiming to unleash Malawi’s untapped potential and invite the world to experience its wonders firsthand.

Sierra Leoneans, among others, now have the opportunity to explore Malawi without the hindrance of visa requirements. The British embassy in Malawi has encouraged its nationals to seize this opportunity and explore the diverse tourist attractions in the southern African country.

Malawi joins Kenya and Rwanda in facilitating visa-free entry for African visitors, fostering regional cooperation and encouraging cross-border travel within the continent. As Sierra Leoneans celebrate this new development, it is anticipated that such initiatives will further enhance diplomatic and economic ties between the nations involved.