The Political Parties Registration Commission’s (PPRC) dialogue meeting involving state security apparatus and concerned stakeholders of the main opposition party, All People’s Congress (APC), has excluded the former 2018 Presidential candidate, Dr. Samura Matthew Wilson Kamara, and the sacked former Vice President, Samuel Sam Sumana from attending.

Many concerned members and supporters of the main opposition, APC have perceived the PPRC’s decision to exclude the two APC stalwarts from the dialogue meeting as appropriate, given that supporters of the two stalwarts are the current trouble makers in the party.

Some prominent aspirants for the flag-bearer position in the APC, including Alimamy Petito Koroma, Dr. Richard Konteh, Alfred Palo Conteh and Joseph Fitzgerald Kamara, have been invited to the dialogue meeting on the grounds that the Interim Transitional Governance Committee (ITGC) is divided because of supporters of the two excluded flag-bearer aspirants.

Both camps, according to findings, are fighting for supremacy much to the detriment of the general interest of the party.

It could be recalled that ITGC reportedly fragmented from its inception because both the then ITGC Secretary, Hon. Abdul Kargbo, and the Interim Chairman Alfred Peter Conteh, have been fighting because of greed, self-aggrandizement and selfish Interest rather than working for the general good of the party.

The Chairman of PPRC, Abdulai Masianday Bangura Esq., recently accused members of the ITGC of being responsible for the delay in preparing the party to effectively compete in the June, 2023 multitier elections.

The APC rules for lower level elections have been passed into law since Tuesday 1st November, 2022 and the party is therefore expected to conclude those elections within sixty (60) days. Unfortunately, though, the infighting continues to deepen among members of the ITGC.

The dialogue meeting is welcomed by majority of APC members and supporters that are very much eager to see the party holding the lower level elections and the consequent National Delegates’ Conference to elect the June, 2023 Presidential candidate to face the incumbent President, His Excellency Brig (Rtd) Julius Maada Bio.