The sixth parliament of the second Republic of Sierra Leone has officially commenced its full term of leadership, which will extend from the 13th of July, 2023, to the 13th of July, 2028

The process in parliament started with prayers and the administering of oath to elected Members of Parliament followed by their official welcomed to the as MPs in the house of parliament on Thursday 13th July, 2023.

Following the First Sitting of Parliament after the conduct of the June 24th polls, the Clerk of Parliament, Hon. Paran Umar Tarawally successfully administered the Oath of Office to 96 Members of Parliament today 13th July 2023, as prescribed in the Third Schedule of the Constitution of Sierra Leone (Act No. 6 of 1991) to constitute the Sixth Parliament of the Second Republic of Sierra Leone.

During the course of subscribing and signing the Oath of Office for Members of Parliament, the MPs said that they would bear true faith and allegiance to the Republic of Sierra Leone as by law established and that they would also uphold and defend the Constitution of Sierra Leone and that they would faithfully and conscientiously discharge the duties of Members of Parliament.

The elected leadership for the sixth parliament is listed below;

Hon. Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu – Speaker of the house.

Hon. Segepoh Thomas – Deputy Speaker

Hon. Mathew Sahr Nyuma – Majority Leader and Leader of Government Business

Hon. Bashiru Silikie – Deputy Majority Leader and Leader of Government Business One (1)

Hon. Emerson Saa Lamina – Deputy Majority Leader and Leader of Government Business Two (2)

Hon. Dickson Rogers – Chief Whip

Hon. Kadie Sesay – Deputy Chief Whip One (1)

Hon. Tawa Conteh- Deputy Chief Whip Two (2)