Acting Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Sengepoh Solomon Thomas has instructed the Clerk of Parliament to write and inform the Airport Authorities that all Members of Parliament traveling with diplomatic passports must not pay the US$25 airport tax.

The decision came after concerns from Parliamentarians that despite holding diplomatic Passports, Airport Authorities are coercing them to pay the US$25 Airport Security fee.

Addressing members of Parliament, the Acting speaker of was shocked to realized that Parliamentarians with diplomatic Passport are paying the Airport Tax while diplomats from foreign countries are exempted from the said payment.

According to Securipass traveler information, the following groups are the only people who are exempted from paying the fee

Members of Government of Sierra Leone Presidential Delegation

Members of Foreign Presidential Delegation

Foreign Diplomats, in line with the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations , 1961

Airline Crew on Duty

Infants[Children under 2 years]

Transit/transfer passenger within 24hr

Passengers from involuntary rerouting e.g due to technical Problem or weather condition