Paramount Chiefs in Tonkolili District in the Northern region have elected PC Alhaji Masakma Kanamanka III of Kholifa Rowalla Chiefdom as the new Paramount Chief Member of Parliament for the district.

The election which was supervised by the District Officer of Tonkolili, happened in Magburaka town on the 18th of March 2023.

According to reports, out ofย  eighteen Paramount and Regent chiefs, sixteen of them voted for the winner. His opponent, PC Alimamy Bockarie Yellan Koroma from Dasogoia Chiefdom is said to have scored two votes.

It is also noted that, two of the other candidates being PC Bai Kafari and PC Alimamy Sorie from Tane and Kunike Barina chiefdoms respectively withdrew from the process and vacated the election venue peacefully before the start.

The outgoing PCMP, Hon. PC Bai Kurr Kanagbaro Sanka III, has been at the helm of affairs for decades, as many commended his service to the district as he has been representing them accordingly.